county may also provide services, including, but not limited to, finance, human resources, legal, and information technology. Service fees will be assessed by the county for the indirect costs related to these services. The Authority shall use at least two-thirds of the funds remitted to it under this subsection to promote travel and tourism in Rutherford County and shall use the remainder for tourism-related expenditures.

SECTION 3. Tourism Development Authority. - (a) Appointment and Membership. - When the Board of Commissioners adopts a resolution levying a room occupancy tax under this act, it shall also adopt a resolution creating the Rutherford County Tourism Development Authority, which shall be a public authority under the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act. The resolution adopted by the Board of Commissioners shall provide for the membership of the Authority, including the members' terms of office, and for the filling of vacancies on the Authority. At least one-third of the members shall be individuals who are affiliated with businesses that collect the tax in the county, and at least one-half of the members shall be individuals who are currently active in the promotion of travel and tourism in the county. The Board of Commissioners shall designate one member of the Authority as chair and shall determine the compensation, if any, to be paid to members of the Authority.

The Authority shall meet at the call of the chair and shall adopt rules of procedure to govern its meetings. The Finance Officer for Rutherford County shall be the ex officio finance officer of the Authority.

SECTION 3.(b) Duties. – The Authority shall expend the net proceeds of the tax levied under this act for the purposes provided in Section 2 of this act. The Authority shall promote travel, tourism, and conventions in the county, sponsor tourist-related events and activities in the county, and finance tourist-related capital projects in the county.

SECTION 3.(c) Reports. – The Authority shall report quarterly and at the close of the fiscal year to the Rutherford County Board of Commissioners on its receipts and expenditures for the preceding quarter and for the year in such detail as the Board of Commissioners may require.

SECTION 4. Administrative provisions. – G.S. 153A-155(g) reads as rewritten:

"(g) Applicability. – Subsection (c) of this section applies to all counties and county districts that levy an occupancy tax. To the extent subsection (c) conflicts with any provision of a local act, subsection (c) supersedes that provision. The remainder of this section applies only to Alleghany, Anson, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Haywood, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, New Hanover, New Hanover County District U, Northampton, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, <u>Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Washington, and Wilson Counties, to Surry County District S, to Watauga County District U, to Wilkes County District K, to Yadkin County District Y, and to the Township of Averasboro in Harnett County and the Ocracoke Township Taxing District."</u>

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9th day of June, 2011.

s/ Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate

s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives

Session Law 2011-115