

289 N. Main Street • Rutherfordton, NC 28139 • 828.287.6060 (p) 828.287.6262 (f) • www.rutherfordcountync.gov



A RESOLUTION REQUESTING RESTORATION TO COUNTIES OF THE STATURTORY AUTHORIZED APPROPRIATION OF LOTTERY FUNDS

WHEREAS, pursuant to Chapter 18C of the North Carolina General Statutes "the North Carolina State Lottery Act and the 2005 Appropriations Act was signed into law establishing the North Carolina Education Lottery. The act created the ninemember North Carolina Lottery Commission to initiate, supervise and administer the education lottery"; and

WHEREAS, the North Carolina Education Lottery was promoted and supported on the basis of proceeds enhancing local governments' ability to adequately provide for education expenses; and

WHEREAS, the distribution to counties budgeted from proceeds in FY 2015-2016 has been drastically reduced to \$100 million in contrast to \$208 million at the previous statutory funding rate of 40%, which amounted to \$565,892 in Rutherford County in contrast to \$1,177,055 at the 40% rate; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to state law, the lottery funds that are allocated to the counties can be used for education for capital outlay projects, including the planning, construction, enlargement, improvement, repair, or renovation of public school buildings and for the purchase of land for public school buildings or for equipment to implement a local school technology plan (NCGS 115-546.2); and

WHEREAS, it is extremely difficult for the Boards of Commissioners and Boards of Education across this State to plan for improvements in school buildings and for technology equipment with the reduction of lottery funds.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Rutherford County Board of Commissioners respectfully requests that the Governor and the North Carolina General Assembly support the allocation to counties at their statutorily authorized portion of educational lottery funds to be used for capital needs and technology.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution are forwarded to the Local Legislative Delegation to the North Carolina General Assembly, the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners and to the other 99 North Carolina counties.

	Cl., D. 1 CC.,
A TYPEOTE.	Chairman, Board of Commissioners
ATTEST:	

County Commissioners

Adopted this the 3rd day of April, 2017.

Bryan A. King, Chairman Alan Toney, Vice Chairman Michael Benfield Eddie Holland Greg Lovelace Steve Garrison, County Manager Hazel S. Haynes, Clerk to the Board Richard Williams, County Attorney