

289 N. Main Street • Rutherfordton, NC 28139 • 828.287.6060 (p) 828.287.6262 (f) • www.rutherfordcountync.gov



CONCURING RESOLUTION OF THE

RUTHERFORD COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS CONFIRMING MEMBERSHIP WITH MCDOWELL COUNTY IN

THE FOOTHILLS HEALTH DISTRICT Effective Immediately After Midnight of June 30, 2019 and Provisions Regarding The Governance And Membership of the Foothills District Board Of Health and the Continuation of Public Health Rules, Policies and other matters

WHEREAS, Rutherford, Polk, and McDowell Counties have worked together since the 1970s as part of the Rutherford-Polk-McDowell Health District as authorized in by concurring resolutions of the Boards of Commissioners for these three counties under N.C.G.S. 130A-36; and

WHEREAS, the County Managers for Rutherford and McDowell Counities have been advised that the Board of Commissioners for Polk County voted in April of 2019 to withdraw Polk County from Rutherford-Polk-McDowell Health District pursuant to N.C.G.S. 130A-38(a) with withdrawal effective at midnight on June 30, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Boards of Commissioners for Rutherford and McDowell Counties recognize that a unified purpose and direction of the public health systems is necessary to ensure that all citizens in their jurisdictional areas have equal access to essential health services; and

WHEREAS, after due and diligent consideration, the Boards of Commissioners for both Rutherford and McDowell Counties concur and jointly resolve pursuant to N.C.G.S. 130A-36 that it is in the best interest of their counties to continue to work together as a district health department to be comprised of Rutherford and McDowell Counties effective immediately after midnight on June 30, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Boards of Commissioners for Rutherford and McDowell Counties concur and jointly resolve to name the district health department that will be comprised of Rutherford and McDowell Counties as the "Foothills Health District" with this name to be effective immediately after midnight on June 30, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Boards of Commissioners for Rutherford and McDowell Counties declare that the mission of the Foothills Health District is to promote and contribute to the highest level of health possible for the people that they serve; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C.G.S. 130A-36, N.C.G.S. 130A-37(a), and N.C.G.S. 130 -37(b), the Boards of Commissioners for Rutherford and McDowell Counties concur and jointly resolve to name the

County Commissioners

Bryan A. King, Chairman Alan Toney, Vice Chairman Michael Benfield Eddie Holland Greg Lovelace **Steve Garrison,** County Manager **Hazel S. Haynes,** Clerk to the Board **Richard Williams,** County Attorney governing body of the "Foothills Health District" as the "Foothills District Board of Health"; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C.G.S. 130A-37(a) and N.C.G.S. 130A-37(b), the Boards of Commissioners for Rutherford and McDowell Counties concur and jointly resolve to set the membership of the Foothills District Board of Health at fifteen [15] board members and that nine board members shall reside in Rutherford County and six board members shall reside in McDowell County; and

WHEREAS, the Boards of Commissioners for Rutherford and McDowell Counties concur and jointly resolve that Foothills District Board of Health members shall be appointed with the qualifications and by the process and for the terms set forth in N.C.G.S. 130A-37 so that initial board appointments shall be effective immediately after midnight on June 30, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Boards of Commissioners for Rutherford and McDowell Counties want to provide for the orderly transition from the Rutherford-Polk-McDowell [RPM] Health District to the Foothills Health District;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED in a session duly convened that the Rutherford County Board of Commissioners concur and jointly resolve pursuant to N.C.G.S. 130A-36, N.C.G.S. 130A-37 and N.C.G.S. 130A-38 that:

- 1. effective immediately after midnight on June 30, 2019, Rutherford and McDowell Counties shall continue to work together as a district health department comprised of Rutherford and McDowell Counties, which shall be named the "Foothills Health District" and whose mission is to promote and contribute to the highest level of health possible for the people that they serve; and
- 2. effective immediately after midnight on June 30, 2019, "Foothills Health District" and shall be governed by a policy-making board N.C.G.S. 130A-37 to be named the "Foothills District Board of Health"; and
- 3. the "Foothills District Board of Health shall be comprised of fifteen [15] board members with nine [9] board members residing in Rutherford County and six [6] board members residing in McDowell County;
- 4. the Foothills District Board of Health members shall be appointed with the qualifications and by the process set forth in N.C.G.S. 130A-37(b) and with terms as set forth in N.C.G.S. 130A-37(c) with initial appointments effective immediately after midnight on June 30, 2019; and
- 6. The Foothills District Board of Health agrees to adopt and assume responsibility for the enforcement of any and all existing local health ordinances or rules the RPM Health District that are in effect in McDowell and Rutherford counties prior to midnight on June 30, 2019 after midnight on June 30, 2019 unless or until replaced, amended or revised by the Foothills District Board of Health or other appropriate bodies.

This Resolution shall become effective once adopted by both the McDowell County Board of Commissioner	ſS
and the Rutherford County Board of Commissioners and then on the date and time as provided herein.	

ADOPTED at a duly call	led and noticed meeting of t	he Rutherford Coun	ity Board of C	Commissioners on
this 6 th day of May, 2019.	_		•	

	Chairman, Board of Commissioners	
ATTEST:		
Clerk, Board of Commissioners		