

Rutherford County

Rutherford County Office Building 289 N. Main Street Rutherfordton, NC 28139

Meeting Minutes - Final Board of Commissioners

Monday, August 14, 2017 6:00 PM Commission Chambers

I. Call to Order

Chairman King called the August 14, 2017 Special Meeting to order.

Present: 5 - Chairperson Bryan King, Vice Chairperson Alan Toney, Commissioner

Michael Benfield, Commissioner Greg Lovelace and Commissioner

Eddie Holland

A. Agenda Approval

Commissioner Lovelace moved to approve the agenda. Vice Chairman Toney seconded the motion. The vote on the motion was:

Aye: 5 - Commissioner King, Commissioner Toney, Commissioner

Benfield, Commissioner Lovelace and Commissioner Holland

Nay: 0

II. Old Business

A. ID 17-1420 Countywide Occupancy Tax

Attachments: Occupancy Tax Increase Resolution.docx

A public hearing was held at the July 3, 2017 meeting to hear comments regarding an increase of 1% in the countywide occupancy tax. At the August 7, 2017 meeting, the Board again discussed the occupancy tax but voted to table any action until a future meeting. A resolution approving an increase in the occupancy tax levied from 5% to 6% was provided for the Board's consideration.

Commissioner Benfield made a motion to revive discussion regarding the countywide occupancy tax. Vice Chairman Toney seconded the motion. The vote on the motion was:

Aye: 5 - Commissioner King, Commissioner Toney, Commissioner Benfield,

Commissioner Lovelace and Commissioner Holland

Nay: 0

Commissioner Lovelace made a motion to make the effective date of the resolution to be January 1, 2018. Commissioner Benfield seconded the motion. The vote on the motion was:

Aye: 5 - Commissioner King, Commissioner Toney, Commissioner Benfield,

Commissioner Lovelace and Commissioner Holland

Nay: 0

Commissioner Lovelace moved to approve the resolution. Commissioner Benfield seconded the motion. The vote on the motion was:

Aye: 5 - Commissioner King, Commissioner Toney, Commissioner Benfield,

Commissioner Lovelace and Commissioner Holland

Nay: 0

III. Adjournment

At 6:15 P.M. Vice Chairman Toney made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Holland seconded the motion. The vote on the motion was:

Aye: 5 - Commissioner King, Commissioner Toney, Commissioner Benfield,

Commissioner Lovelace and Commissioner Holland

Nay: 0